The Role Gender Plays On Finances

 

Does gender effect finances? I think there are a lot of basic financial aspects that males and females share, but there is a whole other side that separates the two genders.

As a female, I could go on and on listing all the things that I buy that I imagine most males don’t have any interest in or even know about. Some of these items include makeup products, feminine products, and we cannot forget the shoes and handbags! It is amazing when you think about all the added expenses we incur over the year after we take into account the necessities including food, water, and shelter, which we all know isn’t cheap either.

However, females are not the only ones whose expenses span greater than the necessities. Stereo typically speaking or not, we all know males to have their specific needs and enjoy their own luxury items. The first few items that come to mind are cars and electronics.

In some cases the male gender can have far greater expenses than females, but there are also a lot of cases where the female spends more to fulfill her lifestyle. Either way, I think it is very important to be aware of gender when it comes to finances.

I know from experience that I have to be aware of my finances because there are certain items I deem necessary for myself. As a female, I like to try and look my best, because it makes me feel better and more confident. So every so often I have to replace old makeup and beauty products. Every few months, I go to my salon of choice and get my haircut and styled and get my eyebrows waxed. I also like to update my wardrobe every now and then. Although I think of myself as very frugal, I do like to treat myself occasionally and all of these expenses add up. I have to make sure I have enough money to do what I would like to do, while trying to save for the future and help pay for college.

Having brothers I know that a lot of the things I just listed do not even come up on their radar. For example, my trip to the salon usually ends up costing round $70, while theirs usually is about $5 at Great Clips. Their typical morning regimen includes a 2-in-1 shampoo and body wash, a face wash, and toothpaste and toothbrush. My morning regimen includes separate shampoo, conditioner, and body wash, toothbrush and toothpaste, face wash, lotion, perfume, hair products, and various makeup products. This is just a single example of the differences, but it really goes to show how much of a role the difference in gender plays on finances.

Leave a Reply

